At the Mountains of Madness – H.P. Lovecraft (OLD REVIEW)

at-the-mountains-of-madness-book-cover

This is going to be a very short review. There is nothing much to say here, sadly. I would like to state that I have and will defend H.P. Lovecraft as one of the best writers ever, but this book is definitely not up to his standard. I went into this book expecting to experience some real horror and mystery that would not let me put down the book. I got everything other than that.
There is just so much describing going on that you would think, in the first few pages, you are reading a geography book about the history of different kinds of rocks. You would think that he is just trying to set the scene so you can imagine the place better, but this just goes on throughout the whole book. Descriptions after descriptions, even the monsters could not escape the real horror here. It just ruined the whole story, because the story itself was really not that bad, but the realization was awful.
It is awfully tiring to read this book. If you are a fan of long descriptions of things that you do or do not care about, then this is most certainly a book for you. If not, stay away.

Book recommendation: 3/10

 

4 thoughts on “At the Mountains of Madness – H.P. Lovecraft (OLD REVIEW)

  1. Argus 18 Mar 2017 / 10:48 am

    Never judge a work by its coverβ€”I was put off Terry Pratchett for years, but some friends finally persuaded me. Instant hookedβ€”the man was as mad as a meat-axe, a contagious genius; and I had no option but total surrender.

    I no longer read the greats, the good, or the famed; I’m too busy being enthralled and amused. And regretting the lost years when I read only the ‘good stuff’ …

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

