Digital Versus Physical

Stack Of Books

Okay, so here is a post out of schedule, but I just want to put this out. As of today there will be a few changes regarding my reviewing.

From now on I will ask for physical copies of books for reviewing, rather than digital. I have never told you this, but I do not read the digital books off of a reader designed for it (since I do not have the money to afford one). Instead of that I read them off of my phone, which causes a lot of eye straining for me. I have been doing this for a couple of years now, so you can imagine that it is not the brightest of ideas to stare into a bright screen and read small letters. Now, because I do not want to ruin my eyes at such young age, I have decided to stop being so open to digital works. This does not mean that I will not be accepting digital versions of books. What I will do, however, is ask for more time. For example, if it takes me one week to read through a physical copy I will ask for two weeks if it is a digital version. This enables me to read it slower and thus have more daily break for my eyes. I will also always read through physical copies first and then tackle the digital, even if the physical arrived a couple of days later. I know authors are usually not in a rush to have the review published, but I am, since I need a constant flow of content on my blog. I just do not want to kill myself (or rather my eyes) to keep up with that.

I hope everyone understands.

– Viking

22 thoughts on “Digital Versus Physical

  1. Thajba 20 May 2017 / 9:52 pm

    Be careful, don’t strain your eyes. Good read, as always.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Marta Frant 23 May 2017 / 10:37 am

    I love all this stuff. I posted the similar blog post about reading a year ago called To read or not to be.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sheetalbravon 23 May 2017 / 5:23 pm

    I immediately identified with when you spoke of the pain of reading a novel on a phone . I read one and gave up on the second half way through. The print is tiny , the page does not completely fit and the experience does not compare well to that of physically holding a book . Paperback rocks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • vikingreviewsblog 23 May 2017 / 5:25 pm

      Well the e-readers that are designed for ebooks are cool too. They are large enough and have no glare on the screen and so on. But as I said, until I can afford one, I’d rather stick to the good old books.

      Like

    • vikingreviewsblog 23 May 2017 / 5:27 pm

      Oh, and my I add one more thing. Authors have responded to my plea and are more than happy to offer me physical versions. So a BIG thank you to every author as well!

      Like

  4. Amy Flatten 24 May 2017 / 9:12 am

    Great point! I can only imagine the strain. I love to hold the physical book in my hands anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ironherc 24 May 2017 / 8:23 pm

    I can’t read that much on screen if it’s a book or a comic or anything, it doesn’t feel right. Also it just doesn’t feel good when i buy something that can be over 20 dollars and not been able to hold it on my hands. Physical all the way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • vikingreviewsblog 24 May 2017 / 8:27 pm

      Well, they are rarely over 20$, most Kindle books are very cheap. But yeah, I know what you mean.

      Like

  6. 21 & Speechless 28 May 2017 / 2:18 pm

    I so much prefer to read a physical copy! Digital books hurt my eyes, and I swear that they were slowly making my vision worse.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. shalini 3 Jun 2017 / 9:55 am

    I do read on the phone and e-reader. The eye strain is less if u put a black background with white font or light grey font. And keep brightness really low till ur eye finds it comfortable to read. Take breaks every half hour. Look at far off objects for 10 min. That relaxes the eye muscles preferably look at leaves or grass or herbs which are green in color. Green is supposed to be cooling to the eyes

    Liked by 1 person

      • shalini 3 Jun 2017 / 10:35 am

        I have been reading on the fone since 5 yrs… So far has been ok.. I find paperbacks a strain as I can’t change size of font. And I have been reading for 40 yrs

        Like

  8. Rika Safrina 8 Jun 2017 / 12:29 am

    Thank you for reminder! I have been reading ebook in my phone for few years now because of practicality so I don’t need to add extra weight (of physical book) into my daily bag. But to think of it, it would be better to carry that small extra weight some times rather than ruining my eyes in the future by reading small texts everyday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • vikingreviewsblog 8 Jun 2017 / 7:49 am

      You’re welcome! I’d definitely rather carry extra weight than glasses later in life.

      Like

  9. oiltranslator 20 Jun 2017 / 2:45 pm

    I feel the same way, but have had to make concessions. An iPad runs Kindle and several other reading apps, and is MUCH easier to read than a phone. Your phone service provider will probably give you a free chip to put in it for wi-fi. They are not as good as a computer but a lot lighter to pack.

    Liked by 1 person

    • vikingreviewsblog 20 Jun 2017 / 5:45 pm

      I woulf have to buy an iPad or any kind of tablet first. Which, if you read my newest blog post, is not an option at the moment (finances).

      Like

  10. oiltranslator 22 Jun 2017 / 4:30 pm

    The dilemma is that to sell writers or translators proofing or review services or the like, digital is relevant because once the thing is published the customer is someone else, not the writer or translator.

    Like

Leave a Reply

