Gibberish #13

vikinggibberish

Before I start… I am thinking of opening up a donation tab on the page in case any of you feel generous enough to send a dollar or two my way. Please, let me know what you think in the comments below.

Hey everyone!

First of all, thank you for showing support on my last reblog post. It is great to know that I have a community, who is willing to go ahead and show support and help a fellow blogger out. I feel blessed and thank you immensely for that.

The second thing I wanted to talk about are subscription boxes. I remember when there were not that many around as there are today, but if you are from Europe, like I am, you are basically destined to empty out your wallet if you want one.

Most of the subscription boxes have a price range from 20-30$, so that right there is quite a lot of money already. Especially if you come from a “poor” European country like I do, and do not really have that much money to spend. Just imagine the situation, if I would buy a box, and I was to get a mid-range one, so around 25$. And the shipping cost is usually 9.99$ to Europe. So if we round it all up, we get a nice 35$ for a box with a book and a few goodies. Now that right there is a lot of money for someone like myself, when I only get a little more than 100€ per month to spend. And do not forget, I still have to feed myself till the end of the month. Surely, I am going to cash out on one in the future, but that does not make it affordable for each month.

Now, do not take this as a rant on how the boxes are too expensive or something. I am just pointing this out, so that maybe, just maybe, somebody with the means to do it, will end up making a new, european subscription box, that will not be overpriced and will not financially kill us with high shipping costs. I think that this is something that is missing in this part of the world, or rather, nobody has taken advantage of it yet properly. I believe that I am not the only one that would love something like that. If I am then I excuse myself and I will bury this post six feet under with pleasure.

In other news, has anyone noticed the cancer in the tags recently? I am not talking about Millionaire’s Digest bullshit (I might do a part two on them, since they managed to get even worse. How that is possible is beyond me, but somehow they still managed to do it. Part 1 is here, for those of you who are unfamiliar with it). I am, however, talking about this:

cancer

Now like any good Samartian I have reported several of these, but they just keep appearing. And nobody seems to give a damn. I mean, you do not have to have IQ above 30, to notice that it is an obvious scam. It just floods the goddamn tags and makes it frustrating for those of us, who try to find good posts from other bloggers. So if you see one (or more) of these, please do us all a favour and report it. Thank you.

As I said last week, Wednesdays are reserved for Harry Potter. For the next few weeks only, of course. This week it is time for the fourth installment – The Goblet of Fire. Make sure to check back in on Wednesday.

– Viking

4 thoughts on “Gibberish #13

  1. Jade Hall 31 May 2017 / 1:17 pm

    I can see the frustration in being financially locked out of subscription boxes. I love the concept and the novelty of surprises but due to recent financial hardship I can’t really justify the expense on what is basically the pleasure of receiving a few items of tat a month which I may or may not use or like. I tend to like make up related boxes. Can I ask, if there was an affordable box you could subscribe to, what would be the general content or theme? Just curious?

    Liked by 1 person

    • vikingreviewsblog 31 May 2017 / 1:37 pm

      Yeah, I totally understand you. As far as the content goes, I would totally subscribe to boxes that make sure you get a good book rather than all the small stuff. For example, BookCase.Club is what I’d love. You get two (usually hardcover) books for 15$.

      Like

  2. bisimodupe1975 2 Jun 2017 / 12:06 am

    You sound down to earth in your writing. Found your page through Margaret’s blog page. Pleased to make your acquaintance.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

