Gibberish #14

vikinggibberish

Hey everyone!

First thing, has anyone noticed a decrease in their blog views? In the past couple of days I have lost more than a half of the traffic on my blog. I believe that this is connected to the tags not working properly. If you go to the reader, the tags sometimes load up and sometimes they do not. I am willing to bet that this is because of the increase of bots that post scam. I do not even blame anybody for not checking the tags right now. I was heavily into the #book and I was searching through those posts daily, I could not wait to stumble upon something interesting. But right now, because of the bots and tons of spam and scam, I drifted away from it and only check it a couple of times a day. The real problem is that the staff probably does not know how to handle it right now and that is really bad. I was just about to pay for the hosting, meaning I would go on either a personal or a business plan, but I think I will rather wait now.

It sucks, it really does. I am sorry for ranting, but I hate to see my views drop to the level they were at when I started blogging while I push out even more content than before, with higher quality and actually posting what you guys want to see. It just pisses me off that a few bots can influence the whole community this much. It is a killer for us, small bloggers.

Think about it this way. If you were to monetize your blog, you would need thousands of views per month, to make it worth it. I am not going to lie to you and bullshit you, but with the way my blog was going, I was on my way to have around 4000 to 5000 views in a month. Now I know that is probably not that much, but I want you to imagine if somebody was to make a profit out of his blog, and have numbers even higher than that drop to 30-40%. It would absolutely ruin the blog, without a doubt. As you know, apart from the donations that are a new thing on this blog, I do not make any money. So it does not affect me monetarily but it is frustrating to see it happen.

So yeah, if you stumble upon any blogs that are just spam and scam, please report them. You will help out the whole community here. Every report might save another blog.

Apart from that, I want to thank everyone that does follow my content, that likes it and shares it. You guys are the motivation for me to continue doing what I am doing. Also a huge thank you to the authors that trust me and contact me to review their books. I love to help “unknown” authors reach more people and you can bet on it that I will continue doing it.

– Viking

15 thoughts on “Gibberish #14

  1. Rine 5 Jun 2017 / 12:22 pm

    I know how you feel about the tags and spam but I also think it’s not helped by the exams and holiday time. I think it’s just compounding factors affecting things.

    Liked by 1 person

    • vikingreviewsblog 5 Jun 2017 / 12:41 pm

      I honestly didn’t even think about that. I think you are right. Yeah, for sure, the spam doesn’t help at all.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Drew @ The Tattooed Book Geek 5 Jun 2017 / 12:36 pm

    It’s probably unrelated but around this time of year blogging activity seems to decrease, a bit now in June but particularly in July and August due to it being summer but I noticed it last year along with some other bloggers to.

    4,000 – 5,000 page views in a month is incredible! I’ve done quite well for page views since I started but there’s loads of blogs out there who get nowhere near that in a year.

    Liked by 4 people

    • vikingreviewsblog 5 Jun 2017 / 12:48 pm

      As I replied previously: I didn’t think about that. It totally flew past my head that the exams are coming, since I am one of those students that does everything on the last day, so I have too much free time for my own good.

      I didn’t know it was that much, to be perfectly honest. But then again, I’m “required” to be everpresent on my blog throughout the day in order to achieve that. I don’t want to rush things and upgrade as I do not know what the year will bring, so I’ll see where I’m at in around half a year.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lisa V 5 Jun 2017 / 6:53 pm

    I thought it was just me! LOL Hope the tags get back to working better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jade Hall 5 Jun 2017 / 7:28 pm

    Thanks I am really new to blogging so general advice and explanation of what impacts traffic etc is helpful

    Liked by 1 person

    • vikingreviewsblog 5 Jun 2017 / 8:38 pm

      Well most of it is just my guessing from observation. If it helps you then you are most welcome. 🙂

      Like

    • vikingreviewsblog 7 Jun 2017 / 9:11 am

      I mean, my tags are publicly visible anyway, but I usually just use tags that actually describe the content. Make a list of the ones you use, turn them around, compile them and so on and so forth. Use synonyms and such.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Eva Blaskovic 8 Jun 2017 / 4:42 pm

    Interesting about the tags. I thought it was the time of year — people spending more time outside, going away, etc.

    Like

Leave a Reply

